Reflection on H

Never venture out in a snowstorm without your color-coordinated purse! That's my granddaughter!
Never venture out in a snowstorm without your color-coordinated purse! That’s my granddaughter!

H is for Hazel

H

EDITOR’S NOTE: Welcome to the A to Z Challenge, an exercise in self-flagellation we bloggers inflict upon ourselves to teach us discipline as writers and to build audience. During the month of April, I’ll be posting 26 times, once for every letter in the alphabet. Looking on the bright side, we can each be thankful this is an English language exercise and not Khmer, the language of Cambodia, which sets the world record with a 74-character alphabet! After some misgivings, I’ve decided to proceed with my initial idea of blogging about the special people in my life whose names begin with the appropriate letter. There will be difficulties, like having more than one special person whose names begin with the same letter, forcing me to choose. And then there are those letters — O, Q and X among them — where no name springs readily to mind. What will I do then? We’ll have to wait and see!

As a retired newspaperman, this picture thrilled me to no end.
As a retired newspaperman, I was ridiculously thrilled when I first saw this photo.

I’ve decided that in the A to Z Challenge, there will be times when I have to cheat, and this is one of those times.

In writing about my granddaughter, Lillian, I’m going to have to refer to her by her middle name of Hazel, even though no one calls her that. Looking ahead, I saw that the letter L is already taken, and besides, Hazel has a bit more meaning for me, which you already know if you read yesterday’s offering on G.

Actually, my granddaughter is named after two great women, as Lillian is her great-grandmother on her father’s side, and Hazel was her great-great-grandmother on her mother’s side, so any way you slice it, this child already has a triple shot of greatness going for her.

So let’s just handle the H requirement by adding a little bit of emphasis: Little Lillian Hazel is my second child’s second child, and as my first female grandchild, will always hold a special place in my heart. I see a lot of her mother in her, and it’s a joy to see that she’s become her mother’s little shadow.

12687839_10153797005831675_2698741880804277255_n

My granddaughter has to do everything her mother does, including cooking dinner, above, or putting on makeup, right.

Not only does Lillian Hazel look a lot like my daughter when she was that age, the two are inseparable. Whatever she sees my daughter doing, Lillian Hazel has to do, too. Already she’s learning to cook delicious and healthy meals, put on a touch of makeup, or go for long walks in the woods.

I just get a kick out of watching my little granddaughter, love her to pieces, and that’s true whether I call her Lillian, or whether I call her Hazel!

My daughter and granddaughter, Lillian Hazel, out for a walk in the woods. I'm leaving out my daughter's name, because you'll be meeting her in 10 more clicks of the A-to-Z clock.
My daughter and granddaughter, Lillian Hazel, out for a walk in the woods. I’m leaving out my daughter’s name because you’ll be meeting her in just 10 more ticks of the A-to-Z clock!
29 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Aww! hazel is such a cute lil girl! ♥
    I am visiting from the A to Z Challenge Co-host’s Team. Hope you are having a great time reading, writing and networking with co-participants of the A to Z Challenge. Cheers 🙂
    Co-Host AJ’s wHooligan for the A to Z Challenge 2016

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Deborah Farrisi April 9, 2016 — 8:16 am

    I think you cheated. You could have written abt Harry Truman. Or Houdini. Howard Hughes. The Harvey Girls. She is an adorable child though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, isn’t she a cutie! I love her color coordinated purse with the snowsuit.

    Cheers – Ellen | http://thecynicalsailor.blogspot.com/2016/04/h-is-for-ham-radio-nancy-drew.html

    Like

  4. Nicola Burggraf April 9, 2016 — 9:59 am

    She is a poppet. Such a sweetie. I love the name Hazel. Thank you for the introductions 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Nicola. I like the name, too, and with I could use it more often. At the very least, I’ll make sure this kid is aware of what her middle name is, and that it was her great-great grandmother’s name, too!

      Like

  5. Hazel is so cute! And obviously a girl of many talents including fashion trendsetter and keeping up with current events. Cooking dinner in her princess dress is priceless!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A lovely name. Middle names are just as important as first names. In our family they link us to our past, often passed from generation to generation.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hazel is a super cool middle name.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Aww such a cutie… Esp loved her newaper reading pic

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love this post about our little sweetie pie. You have captured her true essence… a little girl who so wants to be just like Mama….fashion sense and all.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hazel is a lovely name for such a lovely looking little girl! If that was my middle name, I’d insist on being called Hazel 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Beautiful pics of an adorable little girl 🙂 You should find a lot of children’s books with Hazel as the main character for her to read (like the Heroes of Olympus books from Rick Riordan, when she’s older) – it might make her like her middle name more than her first 🙂 Good luck with the rest of the AtoZchallenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’m still having trouble understanding how a cranky curmudgeon like you can have such sweet-faced young ladies in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

