I can finally say I have an award-winning blog!

liebster-award

When I started writing this post about my nomination to receive the coveted Liebster Award, I had two immediate questions:

  1. Why me?
  2. Why does my autocorrect keep changing Liebster to Lobster?

To answer the first question, I must defer to the blogger who nominated me, Dahlia at Stories and More. Referring to my work in the recent A-to-Z Challenge, she had this to say about Roamin’ Gnomials: I was skeptical when Glenn declared he was going to describe his family members A to Z. How could his family be of any interest to me? But then again I was wrong. It all depends on who is doing the talking (or writing). Poignant, touching, warm, wicked, entertaining, funny – his posts touched the whole range and more.” Well that was mighty nice of her, and considering how much she loves me, I guess it shouldn’t have been a surprise that she’s nominated me for a Lobster … er, Liebster!

The answer to the second question is that my word-processing program doesn’t recognize liebster, which is a German word meaning dear, darling; beloved, liked very much; affectionate, loving favorite, preferred above others; liked or loved above others. That’s all pretty heady stuff, which is not to say that a Lobster Award wouldn’t have been nice, too.

A PAV1-infected spiny lobster, which has nothing to do with the Liebster Award.
A PAV1-infected spiny lobster, which has nothing to do with the Liebster Award.

Despite all that, however, I had some reservations about accepting my Liebster Award, so I decided to do a little research. Other writers have mentioned that one aspect they don’t like is that the Liebster Award has a certain chain-letter quality. The rules state that if you accept the award, you must then nominate anywhere from 5 to 11 more blogs, and in that way, the Liebster spreads across the Blogosphere like the Panulirus argus Virus 1 has spread through the Caribbean’s spiny lobster population.

But unlike most chain-mails, the Liebster Award does not forecast dire consequences for bloggers who do not accept it and pass it on to others. It is, simply put, a ray of positivity in blogging’s dark underworld, where a lot of hard work by a lot of talented writers goes unrewarded. If the bloggers I will nominate at the end of this post choose not to accept, that’s their business, and they can go eat a lobster instead.

My first duty as a new Liebster Award recipient is to answer the 11 questions that Dear Dahlia left for me. Some of this is covered on my incredibly engaging About Me page, but there will be some new revelations here, too.

11 Answers to Probing Questions

How did you begin blogging?
I used to write a Christmas newsletter that was so awesomely and irreverently popular among friends and family that when I quit writing it, they started haranguing me to write a blog instead. I resisted for the longest time, but eventually gave in just to shut them up.

Where do you see yourself in five years as a blogger?
Tough question! I have a hard time seeing myself in five days, much less five years, but if I have to predict, I’ll say that I’ll still be writing the occasional blog post, but in an infinitely more decrepit way.

When you are not blogging or thinking about it what do you do?
I try to think of creative ways to get out of doing things that might actually improve my lot in life.

Does anyone in your family follow, read and/or comment on your posts?
Yes, they pretty much have to in order to make sure I haven’t written anything embarrassing about them.

Could you tell us anything about your part of the world?
Why yes, I can! I am a Native Texan (note capitalization) who has been exiled to the state of New Jersey for the last 20 years or so. There are one or two nice things I can say about my particular corner of New Jersey — we have a lot of trees and the weather is variable enough that as soon as you get tired of one thing, something else comes along. On the negative side, it will probably never feel like home, though there are aspects of ultra-conservative Texas that no longer feel like home, either. All things considered, I’m like a man without a country right now.

Any favorite quote(s) you would like to share?
Yes! I’ve always been partial to this quote by the late naturalist and environmental activist Edward Abbey: “You can’t study the darkness by flooding it with light.”

Could you recommend a book or movie for my bucket list?
Sure! For a book, I will recommend “Lonesome Dove” by James McMurtry. For a movie, “The Silence of the Lambs.”

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done?
I recently trespassed through a cemetery at night on the advice of Edward Abbey (see above).

How do you de-stress?
By writing about gnomes or watching television.

Anything about yourself that you would like to change?
Sometimes I think I’d be better off if I was a glass-is-half-full kind of guy instead of a glass-is-half-empty kind of guy. But it’s impossible to change that when you’ve been a fan of baseball’s Houston Astros for 50+ years.

What do you feel most blessed about?
I have nothing but good people in my family. Truly, I’m the biggest asshole of the bunch, and I guess even I’m not that bad. At least I haven’t been convicted of anything … yet!

11 Boring Facts About Me

  1. Enchiladas are my favorite food group.
  2. I have a private pilot’s license, but don’t fly anymore.
  3. I recently lost 20 pounds, but would like to lose a few more.
  4. I think Blake’s Lotaburger of New Mexico makes the best green-chile hotdog in the world.
  5. I once watched an Army cook carve a roast that had fallen onto the floor, then take it out to serve the soldiers.
  6. I don’t like to fish or hunt.
  7. I once had a tick attached to my nuts and had to get the scoutmaster to help me get it off (hey, I was just 11-years-old).
  8. I fear for the world if Donald Trump gets elected.
  9. I like Sci-Fi, but not when it includes time travel.
  10. My favorite color is green.
  11. I like malt vinegar on my fish ‘n’ chips.

Now I’m painfully aware that this post is already quite lengthy, but the Liebster Award rules state that I must include the Official Rules in my post.

Official Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog in your post.
  • Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”.
  • Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.
  • Provide 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 5–11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, that have less than 1,000 followers.
  • Create a new list of 11 questions for the nominees to answer.

Next are the five blogs I’m nominating.

Nominees

  1. Rational Reflection by Occraz
  2. Unathi K. by (you guessed it) Unathi K.
  3. Centaurus A by Simplybailey
  4. December Bliss by Tanya
  5. WORDS from SONOBE by AJ

Finally, here are the rules-mandated questions for my nominees to answer (sorry guys).

My questions for you!

  1. Do you hate me now for nominating you?
  2. If you could live anywhere in the universe (assuming food and air supply), where would it be?
  3. Explain why your favorite color is your favorite color.
  4. Have you ever hated something you wrote and wished you hadn’t posted it?
  5. Do you ever get depressed by the prospect of a meatless meal?
  6. How do you feel about gnomes?
  7. Why do you blog?
  8. Cats or dogs?
  9. Does your real-life persona come across in your writing?
  10. Coffee or tea?
  11. What’s the deal with these people and the number 11?

Thank you, that is all.

16 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Had fun reading that! And to answer the first question I would refer to the second question 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a fun version of the Liebster Award – both your answers and the questions 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations, I think. Two observations: (1) I’ve always thought of you less as a “a glass-is-half-empty” guy than as a “who-the-hell-drank-outta-my-glass” guy; and (2) the world could have gone all day — and far into the night — without knowing No. 7 on your boring facts recitation.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Congratulations! A Survivor and an Award Winner!
    (Now I want lobster for dinner!)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Janice Carter Brown May 15, 2016 — 12:27 am

    Congratulations, mon ami, on your Lobster … er Liebster Award. LOL
    You deserve it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I miss your Christmas newsletter. When are you going to start it up again? 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  7. glass half full!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for nominating me for the Lobster…err…Liebster award! ;P I don’t think I can follow up with as amusing of a post after reading yours! I think it’d be awesome if you’d resurrect your Christmas Newsletter – I’d subscribe! I too don’t like to fish or hunt.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you for the nomination! I have to admit, I’m terrible following through with such things, but I appreciate your consideration.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

