Random stuff that drives me batshit crazy: Pipe diapers

Instead of a nice silvery pipe, this pipe diaper is concealing god-knows what!
Instead of a nice silvery pipe, this pipe diaper is concealing god-knows what! This one has hideous snaps!

I spotted the first one years ago in a movie theater restroom. I thought it a mere curiosity, but since then they’ve spread like a contagion to public restrooms everywhere, so that no matter where I go, there’s no escape.

What is this threat to the pissing public? Pipe diapers, and they’re driving me batshit crazy!

Caption
Detail of pipe diaper at left shows several flaws, including: A) Loose top B)Illegal use of a zip tie C) Split material D) Sagging gap that would allow roaches, mice, rats and who knows what else to take up residence!
Deeply flawed pipe diaper is a menace to public health. Detail at right.
This deeply flawed pipe diaper is a menace to public health. Detail at right.

Used to be, back in the olden days, nobody was ashamed of their pipes. It was, in fact, comforting to walk into a restroom and see spotless silver drain pipes connected to the sinks. The gleaming metal reassured me. I didn’t have to think about the soap scum, hair, spit, blood and the lord knows what else that was oozing through the inside.

But the good times are over, folks, because some genius has decided to strap on pipe diapers, and who the hell knows what unspeakable filth is leaking inside and making them sag!

Pipe diapers are a plague and I wish they’d just stop. All they do is call even more attention to something I really don’t want to think about at all. There could be roaches crawling around in there, mold, algae, mice . . . virtually anything . . . and none of it wholesome!

Are they in women’s restrooms, too? I don’t know, but I wouldn’t bet against it.

Please, please, please speak to the managers of the establishments you frequent that have pipe diapers installed. Complain that their restrooms are a public health risk because people won’t even want to wash their hands after they … well, you know … because nobody will want to get too close to that sagging, unsightly pipe diaper mess under the sink!

Do it now, because if we don’t stop this menace, pipe diapers could infect us all, but probably not before they drive me batshit crazy!

These pipe diapers look fairly new, and could be made out of some new material. But all it's going to take is one tiny leak, and the whole thing could turn mushy and start to sag!
These pipe diapers look fairly new, and could be made out of some space-age material. But all it’s going to take is one tiny leak and the whole thing could turn mushy and start to sag!
23 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Must be a New Jersey thing. I’ve never seen anything like that in Texas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never heard of such a thing, and have not seen them. They are pretty gross looking, Wonder if anyone ever changes them to clean ones?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t get the point of it on a drain pipe, but it’s supposed to prevent heat loss by insulating hot pipes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your growing fixation on plumbing worries me, old friend. I fear the day will come when I learn your address has been changed to a room with padded walls.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pipe diapers??? I’d not heard nor seen such a thing before, and hope I never will! I agree, it represents all kinds of hygiene challenges if not maintained properly. Ewwww…

    Interestingly, I googled pipe diapers after reading this and your post is 6th in the search results that came back! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is the first time I am hearing such a thing. I am sure we wouldn’t have it here in India for a very long time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. One word: weird 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I had to click the headline because I was wondering what in the world a pipe diaper was, and when I saw the first picture, I LOLed (in a quiet waiting room). I’ve seen these before and agree they are annoying. They bring to mind the legend of covered piano legs during the Victorian era; perhaps the inventor of these think the pipes look too “naughty” when they are exposed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

