Voices: Weeping

14915708_10154533258781675_3462694597228074597_n

Editor’s note: I once had a couple of million regular readers, but I sense those numbers are down by a few hundred thousand, thanks in part to my recent stream of politically charged material. I just can’t seem to help myself, so I’ve decided to seek some outside assistance. Today begins a new occasional series called Voices, in which Americans express their feelings in the wake of the presidential election and what many perceive to be a drastic change in course for America, and not for the better. First up is my daughter, Rebekah. 

By REBEKAH RAY

It is 3 a.m. and I’m weeping. Weeping.

Weeping because we just elected a man who is a mysoginist and sexual predator (will my daughter be safe in a world led by such a man?)

Weeping because we just elected a man who spouts nothing but hateful rhetoric. (hate breeds hate, how do we remain hopeful in this time of despair?)

Weeping because we just elected a bully. (will my son, who has a disability, now be bullied more?)

Weeping because we just elected a man who endorses segregation and deportation. (shouldn’t we celebrate our alikeness more than our differences?)

Weeping for my Gay, Hispanic, Black, and Muslim friends. (will your basic human rights be stripped away?)

Weeping for America. (you are more racist, sexist, hateful and homophobic than I thought, and that is a very frightening and sad thing.)

Weeping. Weeping.

I am so angry, full of grief, heartbroken, terrified.

I am crushed.

This is a scary time to be alive.

Would you like to add your words to the Voices series? My contact information is available under the About Me link at the top of this page.
8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Well said, Rebekah. Glenn, you must be very proud to have such an intelligent, kind, caring young woman for a daughter.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I am so proud of my Intelligent, beautiful Granddaughter!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Rebekah, I am so sorry and completely understand your fears – I’m living in the UK and watching it slide inexorably under those same waters. Love is our only defence – and I send mine to you.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. My heart breaks for all the same reasons. Hopefully love will conquer hate.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I don’t know what to say. I am interested to see how he is going to react to this job he knows nada abt. And how his fans will react when reality hits. Will some of them realize what’s happening? Do we really need the Electoral College? People move around a lot now. Does it really matter where you live ? Anybody have a reason to keep it?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I can’t think of anything worthwhile to add to that, Rebekah. In fact, as I told your Dad, at the moment I can’t think of anything but eating cake and doing crossword puzzles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

