Voices: 2008 and 2016 are light years apart

Editor’s note: I once had a couple of million regular readers, but I sense those numbers are down by a few hundred thousand, thanks in part to my recent stream of politically charged material. I just can’t seem to help myself, so I’ve decided to seek some outside assistance. Voices is a new occasional series in which Americans express their feelings in the wake of the presidential election and what many perceive to be a drastic change in course for America, and not for the better.

By LIN LOFLEY

12243016_10153267305727683_1983256341329231651_nIn Austin, Texas over the weekend, the dedication of the African-American Memorial was held on the grounds of the state capitol. So naturally, a small group of White Lives Matters folks showed up to pitch a hissy-fit and disrupt the proceedings.

Now, the disruption of proceedings might be becoming the national pastime, so we ought to become resigned to that fact. “By any means necessary,” if you know what I mean.

But to show off their sense of humor, some of them brought their weapons to openly carry, and they taunted the crowd by yelling “White Lives Matter.” And here’s the icing on the cake: They said it was only a coincidence that they showed up in Austin the same day of the unveiling of the memorial.

It got me thinking about the aftermath of the 2016 election, in contrast to the 2008 election.
Ah, 2008. I remember people walking around with big smiles on their faces. I remember our pride in having done something truly groundbreaking in American history. I remember the tears I shed watching a lovely family — two, if you count the Bidens — stepping out in front of adoring Americans.

How different it is this year. The aftermath of 2016 has Americans weeping again, but this time at the loss of American ideals.

In 2008, we now know, the people who wound up on the short end of the vote count were shocked and silenced, momentarily. But they soon began planning for their victory . . . some day. That day came Nov. 8, and where the Obama voters danced with rejoicing just eight years ago, this year’s Trump voters are out there now showing a lot more anger than people who generally are the victor.

Admittedly, the 400 or so documented cases of misbehavior have involved both sides, but the anger out there is troubling, and most involve white people attacking people who look different than themselves, or who have the temerity to still have a Hillary Clinton sticker on their car.

The people out there celebrating the Trump victory are a relatively small group. Good luck finding evangelical Christians showing their pride for having voted for the tax-dodging, pussy-grabbing, thin-skinned winner. My impression is that they know what they’ve done and are now hunkered down, hoping people will forget their role in this debacle. They’re counting on God’s forgiveness, and as a man who believes in a just and loving God, I have to hope they are right, but it’s difficult.

I’ve just become apprised of a new verse in the Bible today that I’ll share with you as I close:

“Woe to the shepherds who destroy and scatter the sheep of my pasture, says the Lord. Therefore thus says the Lord, the God of Israel, concerning the shepherds who shepherd my people: It is you who have scattered my flock, and have driven them away, and you have not attended to them. So I will attend to you for your evil doings, says the Lord.”
— Jeremiah 23: 1-2

That’s the word of the Lord, folks.

Would you like to add your voice to the Voices series? My contact information is listed under the About Me link at the top of this page.
One Comment

Add yours →

  1. love it. i will be passing on that verse. for those who forget they are NOT the judges.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

